SAN JUAN COUNTY UTAH RESOLUTION NO 2020- 10

A RESOLUTION OF THE SAN JUAN COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS EXPRESSING OUR CONTINUNED SUPPORT OF THE SAN JUAN COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE

WHEREAS, there has recently been turmoil and impassioned debate about law enforcement in this Country; and

WHEREAS, the San Juan County Sheriff's Office has been tasked with the responsibility with policing our County and communities and keeping it safe; and

WHEREAS, Sheriff Torgerson has been elected by the people and entrusted with the overall responsibility of protecting, defending and providing a safe environment to live in; and

WHEREAS, the fine Deputies and officers, time and time again have put their lives at risk and gone into harm's way to protect all who need the help; and

WHEREAS, the Sheriff, Deputies and staff of this County all deserve the appreciation and respect of the people of this County for the merit, dignity, bravery, and reliability they exhibit each and every day; and

WHEREAS, the citizens of this County have turned to members of the Sheriff's Office for assistance and support in times of distress, whether they are coping with personal crises; or struggling through civil disorder or some disaster. Our community relies on these courageous men and women when it is difficult to stand on our own, and we are indebted to their unwavering public services to our County;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED that the Board of San Juan County Commissioners publically salute our Sheriff and all of his brave deputies and staff, all who place their lives on the line for the safety and security of our citizens and our County; and we reaffirm our commitment to support these brave men and women and we commit to stand in their defense as they stand in our defense with a moral and fervent dignity we have come to expect and appreciate.

PASSED, ADOPTED, AND APPROVED by the Board of San Juan County Commissioners this 4th day of August, 2020, by the following vote:

Those voting age: Commissioners Maryboy, Grayeyes, Adams

Those voting nay: &

Those absent or abstaining: 👄

BOARD OF SAN JUAN COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Kenneth Maryboy, Chair

ATTEST:

John David Nielson, Clerk/Auditor

####